1907 Amendments to the NC Nurse Practice Act

1907

 

Requirements of Nurses to Pass the State Board Examination and the Course in a Training School

 

Requirements of the Board of Examiners of Trained Nurses of North Carolina, in Accordance with the Amended Act of Registration of Nurses of March, 1907

 

SECTION 1:  The Board of Examiners of Trained Nurses requires the presentation of a diploma from a training school connected with a general hospital or sanitarium where three years of training with a systematic course of instructions, is given in the hospital.

 

Sec. 2:  First: Each applicant for license as registered nurse must obtain from the Secretary and Treasurer an application blank, and should file said form, duly filled, with its Secretary, fifteen days before the examination.

 

Second:  Prove to the Board that he or she is more than twenty-one (21) years of age, and possesses the equivalent of a high school education.

 

Third:  File a certificate of good moral character, signed by one physician in good standing, and two registered nurses in good standing.

 

Forth:  Pay the registration fee of $5.00 before entering upon the examination.

 

Sec. 3:  First: Nurses must sign their examination papers with the number assigned them by the Secretary, not with their own name.  By this number the papers are examined and marked.

 

Second:  Each nurse is expected to sign a pledge that he or she has neither given nor received aid on any subject during the time of the examination on that subject.

 

Third:  A separate table or desk will be provided for each member of the class, which desk she will occupy throughout the examination.

 

               No one shall leave the room during the examination on any subject.

              

               Visitors will not be allowed in the room during the examination, except by official invitation of the Board.

 

               Under no circumstances will they be allowed to interrupt the nurses during the examination.

 

               Section 2:  Written examinations will be held at least once a year, covering a period of three days.

 

               The following are the subjects for examination:

 

               “Materia Medica for Nurses.”

               “Elementary Anatomy and Physiology.”

               “Household Hygiene.”

               “Practical, Medical, Surgical, and Obstetrical Nursing and Invalid Cooking.”

By-Laws of the Board of Examiners of North Carolina.

 

  1. Members of the Board should not sign application papers as vouchers, except when he or she is and instructor in the school where the applicant is trained.

 

  1. All examinations will be presided over by some member of the Board.

 

  1. Certificates must be signed by its President and Secretary and one other member.

 

  1. In case of absence of any member, the Board is at liberty to appoint a substitute for the examination at that time.  The substitute to receive the same compensation as the other members.

 

  1. An average of 70% on examinations is considered a passing grade.

 

  1. If an applicant is found eligible for registration, the fee of $5.00 is not returned.  If not eligible, examination fee is returned.

 

A nurse who falls will be given credit for all subjects upon which she passes, and will be required to write again on those subjects in which she failed; but must attain a grade of 70% on these subjects.

 

The Board of Examiners will not recognize the diploma from any hospital that is not recognized by its own State Board of Examiners.  Nor will it issue a certificate without the examination to any nurse graduating after the going into effect of the Nurses Registration Act of 1903, unless said nurse has a certificate from a State Board of Examiners having satisfactory standards.

 

Each examiner is requested to have printed 50 copies of his or her examination questions.  Give date and place of meeting and his or her name.

 

Thirty days’ notice of the time and place of each examination will be given in the public press and nursing journals.

 

 

What the Board Understands as Training Given Nurses in a Training School Connected with a General Hospital.

 

APPLICANT

 

  1. Should possess the equivalent of a high school education.
  2. Should be not less than twenty-one years of age.

 

        COURSE

 

  1. Probation not less than two months.
  2. Course of training three years.
  3. The class term at least eight months.
  4. Written reviews every quarter, and examinations at end of each term or completion of any subject.
  5. Frequent demonstrations and illustrations should accompany the lectures and class work.

 

       THEORECTICAL WORK

 

  1. Pupils should pass a creditable examination, and be familiar with one good book for nurses on the following subjects:

“Text-Book on Nursing.”

“Anatomy and Physiology.”

“Materia Medica.”

“Hygiene and Sanitation.”

“Surgical, Medical, and Obstetrical Nursing.”

“Nursing Ethics and Dietetics.”

 

      PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE

 

  1. Each pupil should have the care of not less than eight cases of Typhoid Fever, and five of Pneumonia, and other medical cases in proportion.
  2. She should have operating room experience, as well as the preparation for, and after care of, major and minor operations.
  3. Their obstetrical experience should consist of attendance upon not less than six labor cases, with after care of mother and child for one week or more.
  4. Dietetics should be taught by theory, and practice, in not less than twenty lectures.
  5. Experience in one hospital may be supplemented by work in another.

 

 

 

 

An Act to Provide for the Registration of Trained Nurses.

 

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

 

Section 1:  That any nurse who may present to the Clerk of the Superior Court of any county in the State on or before December 31, 1903, a diploma from a reputable training school for nurses, conducted in connection with a general hospital, public or private, in which medical, surgical and obstetrical cases are treated, or in connection with one of the three State Hospitals for the insane, or who shall exhibit a certificate of attendance upon such training school for a period of not less than two years, or who shall present a certificate, signed by three registered physicians, stating that she or he has pursued as a business the vocation of a trained nurse for not less than two years, and is, in their judgment, competent to practice the same, shall be entitled to registration without examination, and shall be registered by the Clerk of Court in the manner hereinafter provided.

 

Sec. 2:  That on and after January 1, 1904, registration as a trained nurse shall be made by the Clerk of Court solely upon the presentation to him a license from the State Board of Examiners of Nurses as created and provided by this act.

 

Sec. 3:  That there shall be established a Board of Examiners of Nurses composed of five members, two physicians and three registered nurses, to be elected by the Medical Society of the State of North Carolina and the North Carolina State Nurses’ Association, respectively, to be known by the title of “The Board of Examiners of Trained Nurses of North Carolina.”  Their terms of office shall be three years.  Three members, one of whom shall be a physician, shall constitute a quorum, and a majority of those present shall have a deciding vote.  They shall each receive as compensation for his or her services when engaged in the work of the Board four dollars a day and actual traveling and hotel expenses, the same to be paid out of hotel expenses, the same to be paid out of money received for license issued, and in no case to be charged upon the Treasury of the State.

 

Sec. 4: That the said Board of Examiners is authorized to elect such officers and frame such by-laws as may be necessary, and upon the occurrence of a vacancy is empowered to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term.   

 

Sec. 5:  (Amended March 1907).  That after January 1, 1904, it shall be the duty of said Board of Examiners to meet not less frequently than once in every year, notice of which meeting shall be given in the public press.  At such meetings, it shall be their duty to examine all applicants for license as registered nurse, of good moral character, who can prove to the Board that he or she is more than twenty-one years of age, has received the equivalent of a high school education, and has graduated from a training school connected with a general hospital or sanitarium, where three years of training, with a systematic course of instruction, is given in the hospital.

 

Examinations will be held in the elements of anatomy, physiology, materia medica, in medical, surgical, obstetrical, and practical nursing, invalid cookery, and household hygiene, and, if on such examination they be found competent, to grant each applicant a license, authorizing her or him to register as hereinafter provided, and to use the title “Registered Nurse,” signified by the letters “R. N.”

 

The said Board of Examiners may, in its discretion, issue license, without examination to such applicants as shall furnish evidence of competency entirely satisfactory to them.  Each applicant, before receiving license, shall pay a fee of five dollars, which shall be used for defraying the expenses of the Board.

 

Sec. 6:  That the Clerk of the Superior Court of any county, upon presentation to him of a license from the said Board of Examiners, shall register the date of registration with the same and residence of the holder thereof in a book to be kept in his own office for this purpose and marked “Registered of Trained Nurses,” and shall issued to the applicant a certificate of such registration under the seal of the Superior Court of the county, upon the form furnished him as hereinafter provided, for which registration he shall be paid fifty cents by the applicant.

 

Sec. 7:  That it shall be the duty of the North Carolina State Nurses’ Association to prescribe a proper form of the certificate required by this act, and to furnish the same in sufficient quantity, suitably bound in a book and the labeled “Register of Trained Nurses,” in the State.

 

Sec. 8:  The said Board of Examiners shall have power after twenty days’ notice of the charges preferred and the time and place of the meeting, and after a full and fair hearing on the same, by a majority vote of the whole Board, to revoke any license issued by them for gross incompetency, dishonesty, habitual intemperance, or any other act in the judgment of the Board derogatory to the morals or standing of the profession of nursing.  Upon the revocation of a license or certificate the name of the holder thereof shall be stricken from the roll of registered nurses in the hands of the Secretary of the Board, and upon notification of such action by said Secretary by the Clerk of the Court from his register.

 

Sec. 9:  That any person procuring license under this act by false representation, or who shall refuse to surrender a license which has been revoked in the manner prescribed in Section 8, or who shall use the title “Registered Nurse” or “R.N.” without first having obtained license to do so, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more than fifty dollars or imprisoned not exceeding thirty days.

 

Sec. 10:  That nothing in this act shall in any manner whatever curtail or abridge the right and privilege of any person to pursue the vocation of a nurse, whether trained or untrained, registered or not registered.

 

Sec. 11:  That this act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

 

In the General Assembly read three times, and ratified this 3rd day of March, A.D. 1903.